School Bag Essentials & Tips

As it’s unfortunately around the time a lot of us are going back to school I thought I’d make a post related to school. Back when I started high school I read endless posts and watched endless videos with a similar concept to this and I found them so helpful. They helped me get really prepared and I had everything I needed and everything everyone else needed. Still to this day, everyone in my year knows to come to me if they need anything. That makes me sound really organised and I guess in terms of school I am, but in every other way I’m not – behind closed doors, I’m truly a disorderly mess. But anyway, I thought some of you might find this helpful whatever level of schooling you’re in but especially if you’re starting high school. I also have a bit of advice and a few tips included in this post so I hope you find that helpful too. Let me know if I’ve missed any essentials and if you are staring a new school soon, good luck, and I hope you all have a great year. Be sure to be back here next Sunday at 6pm BST for another post.

First of all, you need to get a suitable bag that is appropriate for school. I would recommend a backpack so you can fit more in it and it will be easy to carry around. But if you’re like me you’ll insist on a handbag which will hurt you’re shoulder and back, but you’ll still continue to use them, year after year. And you need a reasonable sized bag because you will have a lot of school stuff. But if you’re like me you’ll use the smallest bag you can possibly find and each day have to decide whether you’ll get in more trouble for not bringing your gym stuff or for not bringing any of your folders, and if you decided on the folders, what folder you’ll get in the most trouble for not bringing. Just get a decent sized bag. It’ll save you a lot of time and from a lot of trouble.

I find that if you make sure you pack your books for the next day, the night before, you’ll never forget anything. I’d also recommend not leaving your homework to the last minute and doing it as soon as you get a chance to so that you don’t rush it and do it all wrong. I did that for a couple of years and I was always really stressed out about it. And so that you don’t forget that you have homework, I recommend recording it as soon as you’re given it in a planner. I personally like A5 horizontal planners with two days per page but find what works best for you. I would really recommend doing this because in the past year I’ve only forgotten my homework once (and I didn’t forget to do it, I just left it at home).

On days when I do wear makeup to school (which is only one or two days out of five) I like to take some makeup with me for touch ups. I like to take the Collection Cover Up Stick Concealer because more often than not, I have a blemish or two that I need to recover. I also like to take the Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder which is my favourite powder for powdering my t-zone as I get quite oily throughout the day. To apply the powder I always have my Real Techniques Multi Task Brush from the Real Techniques Essentials Set. I always have a lip balm with me wherever I go because the most annoying thing is having dry lips. A favourite of mine is the Burt’s Bees Beeswax Lip Balm as it’s so hydrating. I also hate having dry hands so I always make sure I have hand cream with me. The one which I’m currently using is the Soap & Glory Mini Hand Food Hand Cream which is really good and the mini size makes it great for your school bag/handbag. I keep all of these things in my Next Alphabet Makeup Bag which is a great size, not too big but still fits everything inside.

I always have my Jack Wills Makeup Pouch (which seems to be discontinued) which I use as my ’emergency kit.’ I got this idea from peoples ‘what’s in my handbag’ videos and blog posts about three years ago and I’ve always had one in my schoolbag/hand bag since. In this bag I keep tampons because either myself or someone else will need one. I have the Carex Aloe Vera Hand Gel (sanitizer) because school is literally disgusting. I keep the Tweezerman Lighted Mirror because I like to look at myself. I always make sure I have hair bobbles because a horrible PE teacher (not even my PE teacher) always makes me tie my hair up incase it ‘affects my performance’ (I don’t know what ‘performance’ she’s talking about because I do nothing) and I also have kirby grips/bobby pins/hair grips because you never know when you or someone else will need one. I keep tissues in the bag because I often find that I need them for all kinds of things. I never leave the house without paracetamol because everyone seems to have a headache all the time and ibuprofen because everyone seems to have cramps all the time.

Other things I like to have in my bag are the Ted Baker Pink Body Spray because I want to smell nice and I also always make sure I have some Garnier Mineral Invisible Anti Perspirant which is my favourite deodorant. I like to have chewing gum because although I don’t often chew chewing gum, I do sometimes and there is always someone who wants a bit. I prefer mints so I always have Polo Sugar Free Mints. I hate nothing more than being hungry and I get really ‘hangry.’ I know I’m not fun to be around when I’m hungry so I always make sure I have a snack or two. My favourite snacks are Nakd Bars and these are vegan, gluten, wheat and dairy free, most of them count as one of your five a day and they are made with wholefoods only. I also make sure I always have my phone charger, earphones and some spare money for obvious reasons.

And now, on to the things you actually need. Firstly, you’ll need a pencil case and my choice of pencil case is not a pencil case. It’s the Ted Baker Small Pink Katient Makeup Bag (discontinued). In my pencil case I have black pens because I prefer to write in pen and I have mechanical pencils because I have to use them in maths and I’m to lazy to sharpen them. I have erasers with me all the time because even though I don’t often use pencil someone always needs an eraser. Other things I also have are pencil sharpeners and highlighters because I sometimes need them too.

I also find having a planner so helpful as I previously mentioned as I find it just keeps me really organised. The one that I like is the WHSmith 2017-18 A5 Black Academic Mid Year Diary but I recommend finding one that you find easy to use. I also like having a folder with dividers and sections to put any things you have and the divers will help you organise them into subjects. I also find it so helpful having a notebook to keep in your bag all the time so you don’t have to worry if you forget a book for a certain subject. I also keep a scientific calculator in my bag because I often need it in maths and sciences.

2 thoughts on “School Bag Essentials & Tips

Leave a Reply

